Alumni Board Holds First Meeting of 2011-2012

August 04, 2012

Alumni_BoardThe Saint Leo University Alumni Association Board of Directors kicked off the 2011-12 new year this past weekend with the summer board orientation and planning session at University Campus. The group, which consists of 30 members, met on Friday, July 22 and Saturday, July 23 and welcomed guests speakers including University President Dr. Arthur F. Kirk, Jr. to give a State of the University and provide insight into how the Alumni Association can help in carrying on the mission of the university by involving themselves in various activities to connect with current students and alumni throughout the United States and beyond.

Nine new members were added to the board to serve three-year terms through 2014. In addition, the new Executive Committee was introduced to the board officially as it conducted its first meeting. Filling the roles on the Executive Committee were Bill Griffin '71 (President), Nick Muley '90 (Vice President), Joe Booth '67 (Treasurer) and Jeff Wilke '04 (Secretary).

The Alumni Association Board of Directors will meet again during the weekend of October 14-15, 2011 in conjunction with the dedication of the new School of Business building at University Campus.

The Board of Directors oversees the activities of the alumni association and serves as an advisory committee to Saint Leo University on matters of importance to alumni. The Board of Directors represents all Saint Leo alumni, promoting active alumni participation and involvement through on-campus and regional programs; serving as an advocate for the university’s mission, plans and purpose; identifying and encouraging the enrollment of quality and diverse students; assisting in gathering philanthropic support; and recognizing university alumni and friends who are distinguished by their loyalty, professional achievement, and community service.

To nominate someone you believe would fill the role of ambassador for alumni by serving on the Alumni Association Board of Directors, or for a self-nomination please CLICK HERE to fill out the nomination form.