Saint Leo Inducts Five Alumni into the Athletics Hall of Fame

April 09, 2010

Five_AlumniThe Saint Leo University Department of Athletics inducted five new members into the Athletics Hall of Fame at a special dinner and evening ceremony on Thursday, April 8, at the Saint Leo Student Community Center.

The event was sponsored by Bright House Networks.

The newest members of the Saint Leo Athletics Hall of Fame include former Saint Leo College men’s basketball standouts Brett Slaughter (’00) and Ron Taylor (’90) as well as baseball player Ron Kruthaupt (’77). The group also includes Saint Leo University volleyball star and Sunshine State Conference Hall of Fame member Cristiana Florea (’03). The Lions also inducted the school’s first Athletic Director and Men’s Basketball Coach, posthumously honoring Fr. Peter Sweisgood (’44). 

The Saint Leo Hall of Fame was organized by former Athletic Director Dr. Norm Kaye in 1986-87.

The Saint Leo Hall of Fame honors former students, coaches and administrators who excelled in Saint Leo athletics in the Prep School, Junior College, four-year College or University. Hall membership perpetuates the memory of those who have brought distinction, honor, and excellence to Saint Leo athletics, and familiarizes the entire campus community and alumni with the university’s rich athletic history.